Images of Cambodia: Wats

wat—A Buddhist monastery temple in Laos, Cambodia, or Thailand with monks’ quarters and buildings for study and worship.

Wat Ounalom

“I can think. I can wait. I can fast.” –Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha

Red arch

Stupas + statue

Pagoda grounds

Monkly conference

“I have always thirsted for knowledge, I have always been full of questions.” –Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha

praying statue

Monk on balcony

“We are not going in circles, we are going upwards. The path is a spiral; we have already climbed many steps.” –Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha

pagoda arch

saffron robes

round stupas

gold stupas

Young monk

“It is not for me to judge another man’s life. I must judge, I must choose, I must spurn, purely for myself. For myself, alone.” –Hermann Hesse, Siddhartha

Related post: Gods and Demons

Related post: Ignoble Truths

8 thoughts on “Images of Cambodia: Wats

  1. Pingback: HERMANN HESSE | PANORAMA LITERARIO

  2. Pingback: HERMANN HESSE « "POÉTICA CRIATURAS DE CENIZA"

  3. Pingback: HERMANN HESSE | THE POETA STYLUS

  4. Pingback: HERMANN HESSE « IMAGINACIÓN – LA ESTÉTICA -

  5. Pingback: HERMANN HESSE « BIBLIOFILIA

Leave a comment